25 Things About My Life with RP

by

For those of you not on Facebook, there is currently a “meme” going around where people share 25 random facts about themselves. After writing their list, they then “tag” 25 Facebook friends, asking them to complete it as well. All in all, it is a really cool way to learn some interesting, poignant, random, and entertaining facts about your friends.

Despite being tagged, I have held off completing this task, mostly because I wasn’t sure what to say. However, today I came up with a spin on idea that makes me excited to give it a go: Instead of writing 25 random/general things about me, I have decided to write 25 specific things about my life with Retinitis Pigmentosa (RP).

25 Things About My Life with RP

  1. I have lost about 75% of my vision, mostly peripheral.
  2. Night blindness is one side effect of RP. I cannot see anything in the dark. If it’s pitch black out and I only have a flashlight, I can only sort of see where the small beam of light is pointed.
  3. My central vision is awesome. Contacts and glasses correct my central vision to 20/40.
  4. I can still read small fonts without problem, but if I have the option I will usually select a larger font.
  5. RP is totally frustrating in that it is completely unpredictable. My highly trained and specialized eye doctor has no way of knowing how much vision I will retain or lose, and at what rate or speed. I was told that I might have my central vision for 10, 20, or 30 years.
  6. People have asked me what my lost vision “looks” like. I tell them that my lost vision isn’t replaced with anything like blackness or darkness… it’s just like a void, or a hole, or an interruption in my visual field. Where ever there is a “hole” in my visual field, my remaining vision just sort of fades into and out of the emptiness.
  7. I can only see very bright stars in places with low light pollution. One of my favorite activities is to have a friend try and point out stars for me.
  8. I LOVE fireworks. I pretend they are stars.
  9. Dimly-lit restaurants are an obstacle course for me. Most times I can get by with just following the waiter or companion to the table (I dodge where they dodge, I step where they step, etc.). If it’s too dark, then I’ll ask to take a friend’s arm.
  10. I have had a couple of people try “test” me, to see if I am faking my vision loss.
  11. I have unintentionally knocked over, or run into, the following items because of my vision loss: a chair, fire hydrant, stool, table, car, Wet Floor signs, directional signs, dogs, cats, and children.
  12. Quiet, stealthy children should be encouraged to wear little, tinkling bells at all times. Either that or carry Tic-Tacs with them. 🙂
  13. I am adamant about getting to movies early because I hate walking in when the theater is dark.
  14. I have to sit far away from the movie screen, in order to get as much of it into my central vision as possible.
  15. Bright light hurts my eyes.
  16. Cloudy days can be just as bright as sunny days sometimes.
  17. If I am sitting in a dark restaurant, facing a bright window, I will ask to move, or change seats with someone because it hurts my eyes to look into the bright light.
  18. I prefer to sit in seats where the light is directly behind me, thus illuminating everything in front of me.
  19. It takes a minute or two for my eyes to adjust if I go from dark to light, or vice versa. For this reason, I will often stop right when I walk into a building from outside. Or I will put on sunglasses right before I exit a building, if I know it is bright outside.
  20. I could probably create a whole separate list of “25 things” just for my favorite “visual delights” (things that will make me stop and stare). Examples include: sunlight on water (fountains, ocean, lakes, etc.); rainbows; seeing the world from a plane; shadows; falling leaves; artwork; etc.
  21. One of the most randomly specific visual delights that I can think of can be found at Jupiter’s bar in CU: the reflection of the pool table light on the wood benches is just BEAUTIFUL. I love it. It’s a rainbow of color.
  22. I have a hard time not stopping and explaining to every confused person I see what RP is, and why I might need a cane to get from one location to another, but can then read a book once I get there.
  23. I am still figuring out where and when I should use my cane. For now, I mostly just use it when I am alone, and/or in crowded or unfamiliar places. I definitely use it if I am alone and it’s dark.
  24. I am currently struggling with when to tell prospective employers about my vision loss. Do I tell them before they offer me a job? When they offer me a job? After I am hired? Or should I stay silent?
  25. My vision loss has been a HUGE blessing to me. It has led me to a wonderful relationship with God. It allows me to appreciate “visual delights.” It helps me to enjoy the small things in life.

That was more fun that I thought it would be! I hope you enjoyed reading it as well. If anyone would be interested in reading a “25 Things About the Camino de Santiago” one, let me know. Now that I have the hang of this, I’m thinking it might be fun to try again…

Tags: , , ,

26 Responses to “25 Things About My Life with RP”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Love it, Luci! I have been throughly enjoying the 25 things meme and am thrilled to read this twist on it. My vote on #24 is, only when you feel ready and like it is necessary. Miss you lots!

    Like

  2. Luci Says:

    Thanks, Suzanne! I have fond memories of doing #7 with you in Mississippi. 🙂 Did you decide whether or not to ask your class to do this as an assignment? I think you should!

    I thought of one more to add to the list…
    26. I am right eye dominant. Sometimes I actually find myself wondering if my left eye is still working, and will close my right eye just to make sure I can still see out of my left one. It’s weird… I don’t know if this is RP specific, or if it’s just a “bonus” eye thing.

    Like

  3. Ginny Veeder Says:

    Hi, Luci – how interesting to read your “25 things…RP” list. I can relate to a small extent with what you are saying. There are so many details that we take for granted until we are without. Your positive attitude continues to bless me as you follow the Lord’s leading in your life!

    Like

  4. Ginny Veeder Says:

    Oh, yes – I forgot to tell you, I vote for the “25 Things About the Camino de Santiago” list 🙂

    Like

  5. laurakerlin Says:

    Hi Luci-

    That was really great. I vote for the 25 Camino things!

    Like

  6. Jimmy Wade Says:

    Dear Luci,

    I just ran across your website as I was planning my third trip back to the Camino. I walk a section at a time per year and one of these days, I will have finished the French Camino. Your writing style is so conversational and as a result so inviting. I’m learning so much about RP, but especially about your experience on the Camino. Some people call pilgrims like me “Pilgrims Lite” since we do not stay in albergues. We stay in hotels along the way and have our extra backpack or whatever sent along the way to the next accomodation. It seems that I would never get any sleep with all of the snorers! But as experienced pilgrims say, each of us create our own Camino which takes many shapes, distances, and plans.

    If you have published the list of 25 things about the Camino, I haven’t found it yet. I would like to see them. Also, your photos are fantastic because I’m getting a real feel both in word and pictures of where I want to go this June (Leon to Sarria).

    If you don’t mind, I’m going to find a little rock, paint the word Luci on it (I’m a kindergarten teacher, so I have lots of paint) and deposit it at the Cruz de Ferro or Iron Cross which will be on my path this June. So, in essence, I’ll be walking with Luci.

    Thanks so much for sharing so much with your blog and what you mean to me as I was passing by.

    Jimmy Wade

    Like

  7. becky Says:

    Luci – just came across your blog. I can relate to many on your 25 things about RP.

    Like

  8. Renee Says:

    Hi Luci. I too have RP and blog about it every now and again. We have a lot in common when it comes to RP. How old are you?

    Like

  9. Luci Says:

    Hi Becky and Renee! It’s nice to hear from other people with RP. Thanks for the comments!

    Renee – I just turned 36 years old. I gave up driving when I was 31. How old are you?

    Hope you both are hanging in there with your RP! If you ever need encouragement, just let me know. We can help each other.

    Like

  10. Tony Says:

    Hi Luci — I ran across your blog while scouring the net for information on people’s experiences driving with Retinitis Pigmentosa. I also have RP and can relate to almost everything on your list here. Painstakingly navigating a dimly lit restaurant, trying to avoid the utter blackness of entering a movie theater while the film is already playing, stumbling over all manner of small low-lying objects from wet floor signs to small children … just another day in the life, eh? Those wet floor signs are my bane. I can’t even count how many of those I’ve knocked over. I’ve trampled my fair share of small children underfoot as well. Not too long ago I actually ran into a small boy while snow skiing. The poor guy was pretty dazed and his parents were quite upset. I felt awful.

    Another thing I might add to my own list: meeting new people. Do you ever leave someone hanging as they extend their arm to shake your hand because you didn’t see them doing so? I find myself looking down a lot to make sure I don’t miss the handshake, but I can only guess at how that must look from the other person’s perspective 🙂

    I hope you don’t mind me sharing. I just felt compelled to comment after discovering someone with such similar experiences. Thanks for sharing your own story, and God bless you.

    Like

  11. Luci Says:

    Tony – It is always such a blessing to “meet” other people with RP over the internet. It makes our world so much smaller, and it helps knowing that encouragement is just an email away! I’m so glad you found my blog and left a comment.

    Speaking of “meeting” people — yes, the handshake thing is tricky. I pretty much always just stick my hand out and force people to shake hands as soon as I meet them, so that I don’t miss it. This works most of the time, but not all. If I find I’ve missed someone’s hand, I try to make a joke of it, or just flat out tell them I didn’t see it. It usually depends on the person and the setting though.

    You said you found the blog while looking for information on driving and RP. Do you drive, or have you given it up, or are you in the process of trying to figure it all out? Regardless, I wish you well on your own RP journey! Feel free to email me at luciwalks@gmail.com if you ever need encouragement!

    -Luci

    Like

  12. Tony Says:

    Indeed, “meeting” other people with the condition is so encouraging! Thank you for putting together this blog so that people can perhaps find a bit of camaraderie and hope. I just recently started looking seriously into my own RP, and I must admit that until recently I felt like I was the only one who could see well enough with glasses but who still had a terrible time in movie theaters and was always tripping over things.

    That’s a great suggestion for the handshaking dilemma! Better to just stick your hand out there first and hope the other person has better peripheral vision 🙂 I agree that if you miss the handshake, it’s usually best to just say straight out that you didn’t see it, although most of the time I don’t think people actually believe me.

    I’ll follow up with you over Email. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  13. Bill Says:

    Hi Luci,
    I just came across your website today. Thank you for posting it. I can relate to all points. I have had RP for several years now. I wish I was as optimistic as you are.

    Thanks,
    Bill

    Like

    • Luci Says:

      Hi Bill, Thanks for the comment. I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling optimistic about your RP. Let me know if there is some way I can encourage you. The toughest times for me are usually the days I go see my eye doctor, when the test results are in, and I see in black and white how much vision I have lost on the visual fields. Fortunately, I continue to maintain a small degree of central vision (approximately 12 degrees), and this is what I choose to focus on instead. I am so thankful for my central vision! Anyway, I know how discouraging RP can be if we let it. I’ll be praying for you that you are able to find some silver lining to cling to, however small it may be. Blessings to you and yours during this holiday season, Luci

      Like

  14. Jack Says:

    I can relate to just about every item on your list. However, I would never consider it a blessing. I’m sure there are much better ways to enjoy the “little things” in life without suffering catastrophic vision loss.

    I’m in the same boat as you. Pretty solid central vision (20/40 on a good day), but I feel the world closing in.

    There seem to be advancements with stem cell therapy, so there’s always hope.

    Like

  15. shans Says:

    when you surrender yourself to Gods WILL then everything that happens is a blessing..

    Like

  16. Chelsey Says:

    Thankyou so much for sharing. My hubby was just diagnosed with RP in April, although we have wondered if something was wrong for about 8 years. Many optometrists did not catch the problem. A few days ago he had a retina scan and I’m freakin out about the results. Will he lose his drivers liscense? Will it come back very negative?
    Is there anything you could tell me about the progression, frustration and anxiety of the disease? Or how I can be encouraging to my dear spouse? I am sure he feels I don’t understand. I am very afraid for what the future holds and would love some advice, ways of dealing with things, and your biggest frustrations.

    Chelsey

    Chelseyfriedt@gmail.com

    Like

  17. EBPKY Says:

    These are GREAT!! Hope it’s okay to print the list for my family – it explains so much. I can relate to every single one, even #26!

    Regarding hand-shaking, this is an important issue for me as I try to function in the business world – networking, meeting with clients, etc. I went to the Chicago Lighthouse (a place I describe as “low-vision nirvana”) – and everyone you meet says, “I’ll shake your hand…” as they extend their hand so you know it’s there. A great idea that I hope catches on in the world of the “fully sighted.”

    Like

    • Luci Says:

      Hi EBPKY, I’m so glad you are able to connect with the things on this list. You are more than welcome to share this with the people in your life. Handshakes remains an issue for me in the business world too. I currently work in government & foreign relations and sometimes it’s not always appropriate for me to initiate a handshake, so I often find myself just staring at their hands. LOL Oh well. God knows. 🙂

      Like

  18. Rachel Says:

    Hi Luci I just found your blog and have really enjoyed reading it! I have RP too. I am 25 and was diagnosed around 5 so it was caught pretty early. The hardest part for me has been losing my sense of independence. I wish I could see it as a blessing like you have. 🙂

    Like

    • Luci Says:

      Hi Rachel, so glad you have enjoyed reading the blog. The comments people leave on here are such an encouragement to me as I am reminded I am never alone. Thank you!

      Loss of independence is a tough, tough thing. I think that is probably one of the biggest reasons why I decided to walk the Camino across Spain. I needed to redefine my definition of independence. I’m not saying you should do the same thing, but I do encourage you to be creative and courageous as you redefine what independence means to you. Good luck, Rachel!

      Like

  19. Jolyn Says:

    Reading ur post felt like I was reading about myself. I hate wet floor signs!

    Like

  20. antonie Says:

    antonie

    25 Things About My Life with RP | Luci Walks

    Like

  21. problematique de la dissertation Says:

    problematique de la dissertation

    25 Things About My Life with RP | Luci Walks

    Like

Leave a comment